EWS - Der einzige Politthriller der Schweiz


"It's the same as always. No one notices her coming. Chinese already seated at the conference table remain seated. Others chat or turn their backs to her. Only when she briskly begins to walk down her rows do the business delegates jump to their feet. The Federal Councilor's gaze is friendly, her handshake firm and precisely measured. No one is favored. No one is forgotten."
(Margrit Sprecher on Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf (EWS))


Eveline needs a night to think things over. There is the right, but also the wrong moment in life for everything. Crowds of people in front of the Federal Palace are cheering. Posters read "Courage, Eveline" and "Eveline, say yes!". Eveline says yes. Switzerland has never seen that before. Blocher is out, and she is the sixth woman on the Federal Council. The election divides her party and Switzerland. Women cheer, right-wingers curse, left-wingers celebrate the bourgeois. Newspaper Blick writes of "high treason" and is reprimanded by the Press Council, Weltwoche calls her Judas and Brutus. She becomes Swiss Woman of the Year, abolishes banking secrecy, arrests Polanski and saves UBS.

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf's election to the Federal Council 15 years ago made political history. She, who saw herself as a solution-oriented politician, was overnight at the center of Switzerland's biggest - perhaps only - political thriller. Director Piet Baumgartner, with David Attenberger, Melina Pyschny, Lara Stoll and a chorus of Swiss, devotes himself to women in power and Swiss political culture. A concordant choreography to a Swiss beat. Strange, Helvetic, poetic.


Language: German / Swiss German

Supported by Landis & Gyr Foundation and Ernst Göhner Foundation

December 2022

20

Dec

more

21

Dec

more

January 2023

23

Jan

more

With

David Attenberger, Melina Pyschny, Lara Stoll, Fredy Goldschmid, Pina Köhler, Tanya König, Annette Labusch, Lucy Novotny, Ruth Rüfenacht, Julia Sattler, Salome Schock

Production Team

Regie, Dramaturgie & Konzept: Piet Baumgartner, Julia Reichert

Bühne: Anna Wohlgemuth

Kostüm: Delia C. Keller und Tania Perret

Dramaturgische Mitarbeit: Sophie Nadler

Choreographische Mitarbeit: Rosalie Kirchner

Musikalische Leitung: Annette Labusch

Regieassisstenz : Sophie Nadler

Ausstattungsassistenz: Tania Perret

Hospitanz: Rosalie Kirchner

Videoausschnitte: (C) 2008 & 2018 SRF, lizenziert durch Telepool GmbH Zürich

David Attenberger

Melina Pyschny

Lara Stoll

Piet Baumgartner

Julia Reichert

Tanya König

Anna Wohlgemuth

Delia C. Keller

Tania Perret

Annette Labusch

Julia Sattler

Lucy Novotny

Fredy Goldschmid

Ruth Rüfenacht

Pina Köhler

Salome Schock

EWS - Der einzige Politthriller der Schweiz


«Es ist wie immer. Niemand bemerkt ihr Kommen. Chinesen, die bereits am Konferenztisch sitzen, bleiben sitzen. Andere Schwatzen oder drehen ihr den Rücken zu. Erst, als sie zügig ihre Reihen abzuschreiben beginnt, springen die Wirtschaftsdelegierten auf. Der Blick der Bundesrätin ist freundlich, ihr Händedruck fest und genau bemessen. Niemand wird bevorzugt. Niemand wird vergessen.»
(Margrit Sprecher über Eveline Widmer-Schlumpf (EWS)) 


Eveline braucht eine Nacht Bedenkzeit. Es gibt für alles den richtigen, aber auch den falschen Moment im Leben. Menschenmengen vor dem Bundeshaus fiebern mit. Auf Plakaten steht «Mut, Eveline» und «Eveline, sag ja!». Eveline sagt ja. Das hat die Schweiz noch nicht gesehen. Damit ist Blocher raus, und sie als sechste Frau im Bundesrat. Die Wahl spaltet ihre Partei und die Schweiz. Frauen jubeln, Rechte fluchen, Linke feiern die Bürgerliche. Der Blick schreibt von «Hochverrat» und wird dafür vom Presserat gerügt, die Weltwoche nennt sie in einem Atemzug mit Judas und Brutus. Sie wird Schweizerin des Jahres, schafft das Bankgeheimnis ab, verhaftet Polanski und rettet die UBS.

Eveline Widmer-Schlumpfs Wahl in den Bundesrat schrieb vor 15 Jahren Politgeschichte. Sie, die sich als lösungsorientierte Sachpolitikerin verstand, stand über Nacht im Zentrum des grössten – vielleicht einzigen - Politthrillers der Schweiz. Regisseur Piet Baumgartner widmet sich mit David Attenberger, Melina Pyschny, Lara Stoll (auf Skiern) und einem Chor von Schweizer:innen Frauen an der Macht und der Schweizer Politkultur. Eine konkordante Choreographie zu Bundesberner Beat. Seltsam, helvetisch, poetisch.


Unterstützt durch Landis & Gyr Stiftung und Ernst Göhner Stiftung

Oktober 2022

06

Okt.

mehr

08

Okt.

mehr

11

Okt.

mehr

Mit

David Attenberger, Melina Pyschny, Lara Stoll, Lucy Novotny, Annette Labusch, Ruth Rüfenacht, Fredy Goldschmid, Tanya König, Julia Sattler, Pina Köhler, Salome Schock

Produktionsteam

Regie: Piet Baumgartner

Szenografie: Anna Wohlgemuth

Kostüm: Delia Keller, Tania Perret

Dramaturgie: Julia Reichert

David Attenberger

Melina Pyschny

Piet Baumgartner

Anna Wohlgemuth

Julia Reichert