#Bigdreams

Brian is the most famous inmate in Switzerland. No newspaper, no television format in Switzerland has not reported on the “Carlos case”. “Carlos” became synonymous with “homicidal,” “social delusion,” and “cozy justice,” and thus the projection surface of a media landscape that increasingly relies on clickbait. For this lucrative business, the Blick editorial team even created its own column “Case Carlos”. As the media theater grew more grotesque, costing one government councilman his job, public pressure affected the conditions of Brian’s imprisonment, who was not even twenty at the time. Eight years later, he is back and still in prison — isolation for three years — which has even drawn the attention of the UN Special Rapporteur.

#BigDreams opens a new chapter in the media theater surrounding Brian’s case. This time the script does not follow the dramaturgy of the tabloid press, but appropriates it. How can and must a democratic society respond to this? The #BigDreams project explores this question with the means of art in five acts.

“If Brian dies in prison, democracy dies.”
(an expert who remains anonymous)

 

what happened so far:

Prologue: We look
#BigDreams started in May with a prologue in front of the Zurich High Court. While Brian’s imprisonment and possible custody were being negotiated, some media outlets continued to unflinchingly negotiate their narratives about “Carlos the Intense Offender,” which had been established since 2013. With their Critical Newsticker, #BigDreams create a counter-perspective, comment the reporting critically with regard to racism and take a stand on the court case.

Act 1: My name is Brian
In ACT 1, Brian himself speaks. My_name_is_Brian is the name of Brian’s Instagram channel, which he runs live from solitary confinement. Follow Brian!

Act 2: $$ELLOUT CARLOS
In the 2nd ACT, Brian’s experiences and media criticism merge into real fiction: For years, Blick has earned millions with the label “Carlos”. But now Brian is claiming his rights to this “million dollar clickbait baby” and selling «Carlos»-Productshimself. The proceeds will one day be used to buy out Blick so that something like this can never happen again.

Act 3: SWISS QUALITY TORTURE
In ACT 3, #BigDreams focuses on Brian’s prison regime today: the consequence of the toxic interplay of media, politics, and publicity that resulted in a prison system that violated human rights. With the installation “SWISS QUALITY TORTURE”, urban squares in the canton of Zurich are played and the public is confronted with the consequences of the media theater that has been going on for eight years: How can and must a democratic society react to torture in the Zurich penal system?

 

After the 3rd act Swiss Quality Torture #BigDreams comes on stage at Neumarkt:
From November 16 to 19, artists, scientists and activists will work, discuss and perform at Neumarkt on Brian’s Big Dreams for a discrimination-free society, against state torture for a democratic constitutional state.

 

#BigDreams is a diverse collective of artists, activists, and scholars who have been working on Brian’s case for the past year and a half and formed specifically for this purpose. Brian himself is a member of #BigDreams, all formats were conceived and implemented together with him.

With

Wilson Adebayo, Sabina Aeschlimann, Sebastian Aeschlimann, Joshua Amissah, tobibienz, Bite Toys, Benjamin Burger, Brandy Butler, Giulia Cudini, Jacqueline Daunois, Yuvviki Dioh, Jamin Eberhard, Rahel El-Maawi, Julie Fischer, Thomas Galli, Hannah Gottschalk, Mariana Grünig, Daniela Guse, Anouk Haueter, Helmhaus Zürich, humanrights.ch, Dr. Brigitte Hürlimann, Brian Keller, Fritzi König, Kunstraum Walcheturm, Michael Meili, Fatima Moumouni, David Mühlemann, Mbene Mwambene, Lelah Neary, Theater Neumarkt: Dramaturgie, Kommunikation, Werkstätten & Ensemble, Elmira Oberholzer, Victoria Papagni, Edwin Ramirez, Daniel Riniker, Dimitri Rougy, Gonzalo Silva, Jolanda Spiess-Hegglin, Paula Ursprung, Reto Volkart, Mohamed Wa Baile, Eva Willenegger, Claudia Wilopo

Julia Reichert

Nikolai Eneas Prawdzic

Brian Keller

Eva Willenegger

Daniel Riniker

Jacqueline Daunois

Mbene Mwambene

Sebastian Aeschlimann

Tobibienz

Sabina Aeschlimann

Benjamin Burger

#Bigdreams

Brian ist der bekannteste Häftling der Schweiz. Keine Zeitung, kein Fernsehformat in der Schweiz hat nicht über den «Fall Carlos» berichtet. «Carlos» wurde zum Synonym für «gemeingefährlich», «Sozial-Wahn» und «Kuscheljustiz» und damit zur Projektionsfläche einer Medienlandschaft, die immer stärker auf Clickbaits setzt. Für dieses einträgliche Geschäft rief die Blick-Redaktion sogar eine eigene Rubrik «Fall Carlos» ins Leben. Während das Medientheater immer groteskere Züge annahm und einem Regierungsrat den Job kostete, wirkte sich der öffentliche Druck auf die Haftbedingungen des damals nicht mal Zwanzigjährigen Brian aus. Acht Jahre später sass er wieder und immer noch im Gefängnis –drei Jahre davon in Isolationshaft – was sogar den UNO-Sonderberichterstatter auf den Plan gerufen hat.

#BigDreams eröffnet ein neues Kapitel im Medientheater um Brians Fall. Dieses Mal folgt das Script nicht der Dramaturgie der Boulevardpresse, sondern eignet sich diese an. Wie kann und muss eine demokratische Gesellschaft darauf reagieren? Dieser Frage geht das Projekt #BigDreams mit den Mitteln der Kunst in fünf Akten nach.

«Wenn Brian im Gefängnis stirbt, stirbt die Demokratie.»
(ein anonym bleibender Experte)

Was bisher geschah:

Prolog: Wir schauen hin
#BigDreams startete im Mai 2021 mit einem Prolog vor dem Zürcher Obergericht. Während über Brians Haft und mögliche Verwahrung verhandelt wurde, verhandelten einige Medien unbeirrt ihre seit 2013 etablierten Narrative zum «Carlos dem Intensivtäter» weiter. 
#BigDreams schuf mit ihrem Critical Newsticker eine Gegenperspektive, ordnete die laufende Berichterstattung rassismuskritisch ein und bezog Stellung zum Gerichtsverfahren.

1. Akt: Mein Name ist Brian
Im 1. AKT sprach Brian selbst. Mein_Name_ist_Brian heisst Brians Instagramkanal, den er live aus der Isolationshaft zu betreiben begann. Follow Brian!

2. Akt: $$$$ELLOUT CARLOS
Im 2. AKT verschmolzen Brians Erfahrungen und Medienkritik zur Realfiktion: Während Jahren hat der Blick mit dem Label «Carlos» Millionen verdient. Doch nun erhebt Brian Anspruch auf seine Rechte an diesem «Million-Dollar-Clickbait-Baby» und verkauft selber «Carlos»-Produkte. Mit dem Erlös soll eines Tages der Blick aufgekauft werden, damit so etwas nie wieder passieren kann.

3. Akt: SWISS QUALITY TORTURE
Im 3. AKT konzentrierte sich #BigDreams auf Brians Haftregime: Die Folge aus dem toxischen Zusammenspiel aus Medien, Politik und Öffentlichkeit, die in einem menschenrechtsverletzenden Strafvollzug mündete. Mit der Installation «SWISS QUALITY TORTURE» wurden städtische Plätze im Kanton Zürich bespielt und die Öffentlichkeit mit den Folgen des seit acht Jahre andauernden Medientheaters konfrontiert: Wie kann und muss eine demokratische Gesellschaft auf die Folter im Zürcher Strafvollzug reagieren?

4. Akt: #BigDreams 
Vom 16. bis 19. November arbeiteten, diskutierten und performten Künstler:innen, Wissenschaftler:innen und Aktivist:innen am Neumarkt zu Brians Big Dreams für eine diskriminierungsfreie Gesellschaft, gegen staatliche Folter und für einen demokratischen Rechtsstaat.


Seit Januar 2022 ist Brian nicht mehr in Isolationshaft. Der öffentliche Druck beendete die Einzelhaft in der Justizvollzuganstalt Pöschwies und führte zu seiner Verlegung in ein anderes Zürcher Gefängnis. Brian lebt seitdem wieder unter dem normalen Haftregime. 
 

#BigDreams ist ein diverses Kollektiv von Künstler:innen, Aktivist:innen und Wissenschaftler:innen, die sich seit eineinhalb Jahren mit Brians Fall auseinandersetzen und sich eigens dafür gegründet hat. Brian selber ist Mitglied von #BigDreams, alle Formate wurden gemeinsam mit ihm konzipiert und umgesetzt.

Mit

Wilson Adebayo, Sabina Aeschlimann, Sebastian Aeschlimann, Joshua Amissah, tobibienz, Bite Toys, Benjamin Burger, Brandy Butler, Giulia Cudini, Jacqueline Daunois, Yuvviki Dioh, Jamin Eberhard, Rahel El-Maawi, Julie Fischer, Thomas Galli, Hannah Gottschalk, Mariana Grünig, Daniela Guse, Anouk Haueter, Helmhaus Zürich, humanrights.ch, Dr. Brigitte Hürlimann, Brian Keller, Fritzi König, Kunstraum Walcheturm, Michael Meili, Fatima Moumouni, David Mühlemann, Mbene Mwambene, Lelah Neary, Theater Neumarkt: Dramaturgie, Kommunikation, Werkstätten & Ensemble, Elmira Oberholzer, Victoria Papagni, Edwin Ramirez, Daniel Riniker, Dimitri Rougy, Gonzalo Silva, Jolanda Spiess-Hegglin, Paula Ursprung, Reto Volkart, Mohamed Wa Baile, Eva Willenegger, Claudia Wilopo

Julia Reichert

Nikolai Eneas Prawdzic

Brian Keller

Eva Willenegger

Daniel Riniker

Jacqueline Daunois

Mbene Mwambene

Sebastian Aeschlimann

Tobibienz

Sabina Aeschlimann

Benjamin Burger