Academy for processing disappointments of reason

Listening Sessions

Let’s face the big questions. Can we bear not to have an answer, to search, to reflect, to allow the ambivalences of the world, of being, of thinking. Let’s remember: “What was the world you thought you could have? What was it that we wanted to know? What was it that we were allowed to hope for?“
The “Academy for Processing Disappointments of Reason” takes up these questions of the German post-war philosopher Hans Blumenberg. It goes on a journey of thoughts, dares to think away from the opinion culture of the leading media, discusses current topics, movements and developments from different perspectives and puts them in front of the/our “absolutism of reality”; the “dictatorship of simple truths”.

Is it possible to ask questions about the larger context of meaning in a world devoid of meaning, when in parallel — to name a few — struggles are being waged for interpretive sovereignty, for empowerment, against racism? How do universalist ideas relate to particular interests and, for example, an identity-political essentialism? What happens when the dissensual political of thought and action is sacrificed in favor of a consensual ethic of silence? And vice versa when the politically thinking silence is drowned out by a loud roar and chatter?

In the format of listening sessions, Nora Al-Badri, multidisciplinary conceptual and media artist, María do Mar Castro Varela, postcolonial theorist and political scientist, and Hayat Erdoğan, dramaturg and Neumarkt co-director, philosophize and discuss these questions. In a radio setting they add live guests and also DJs.

With

Nora Al-Badri, Maria do Mar Castro Varela, Hayat Erdoğan und Gästen

Nora Al-Badri

Hayat Erdoğan

Akademie zur Verarbeitung von Enttäuschungen der Vernunft

Listening Sessions

Stellen wir uns den grossen Fragen. Halten wir es aus, keine Antwort zu haben, zu suchen, nachzudenken, die Ambivalenzen der Welt, des Seins, des Denkens zuzulassen. Erinnern wir uns: «Welches war die Welt, die man haben zu können glaubte? Was war es, was wir wissen wollten? Was war es, das wir erhoffen durften?»
Die «Akademie zur Verarbeitung von Enttäuschungen der Vernunft» knüpft an diesen Fragen des deutschen Nachkriegsphilosophen Hans Blumenberg an. Sie geht auf Gedankenraumfahrt, wagt ein Denken abseits der leitmedialen Meinungskultur, diskutiert aktuelle Themen, Bewegungen und Entwicklungen von unterschiedlichen Perspektiven und stellt sie vor den/unseren «Absolutismus der Wirklichkeit»; die «Diktatur der einfachen Wahrheitent».

Kann man Fragen nach dem grösseren Sinnzusammenhang in einer sinnentleerten Welt stellen, wenn parallel dazu – um einige zu nennen – Kämpfe um Deutungshoheit, um Empowerment, gegen Rassismus geführt werden? Wie verhalten sich universalistische Ideen zu Partikularinteressen und beispielsweise einen identitätspolitischen Essentialismus? Was passiert, wenn das dissensuelle Politische des Denkens und Handelns zugunsten einer konsensuellen Ethik des Schweigens geopfert wird? Und umgekehrt wenn die politisch denkende Stille von einem lauten Gebrüll und Gerede übertüncht wird?

Im Format von Listening-Sessions philosophieren und diskutieren Nora Al-Badri, multidisziplinäre Konzept- und Medienkünstlerin, María do Mar Castro Varela, postkoloniale Theoretikerin und Politikwissenschaftlerin, und Hayat Erdoğan, Dramaturgin und Neumarkt-Co-Direktorin, diese Fragen. Im Radiosetting schalten sie live Gäste und auch DJs dazu.

Mit

Nora Al-Badri, Maria do Mar Castro Varela, Hayat Erdoğan und Gästen

Nora Al-Badri

Hayat Erdoğan